Q1 What's offshore wind power?

Offshore wind power is the electricity generated from offshore wind farms located at sea, in the fjord, and in the lakes. The Taiwan Strait is the best place for Taiwan to develop offshore wind power.

Q2 What makes up an offshore wind farm and how is it installed?

Offshore wind farm is composed of several hardware parts, including offshore wind turbine, foundation, transition piece, offshore substation, subsea cable, onshore cable and onshore substation. The electricity generated from offshore wind farms will be firstly collected and then stepped-up at offshore substation, transmitted through subsea cable and connected to the onshore cable all the way to Taiwan Power Company’s onshore substation.

Q3 What are Installed Capacity, Capacity Factor, and Electrical Energy Output?

Installed Capacity:
Maximum electricity a power plant can generate, normally measured in MW or GW.

Capacity Factor
The capacity factor is the ratio of an actual electrical energy output to the maximum possible electrical energy output over a given period, falling in the interval between 0 and 1. Capacity factors vary among different types of power generations. Take the annual statistics of 2016 made by Taiwan Power Company as an example, among the major electricity sources in Taiwan, the capacity factor of nuclear power, thermal power, and hydro power are 67.6%, 68.07%, and 35.71% respectively. The number of capacity factor of renewable energy is normally relatively less because of the natural limits. The capacity factor of the offshore wind power off Chunghua coast is about 25% to 30% as estimated.

Electrical Energy Output
Electrical Energy Output is the power generation in a given time period and is correlated to the capacity factor. In Taiwan, it is normal to use kWh as the basic unit of the electrical energy output.

Q4 What is grid connection?

In offshore wind farm, grid connection refers to electricity travelling from offshore substation, transmission via undersea and on-land cables, all the way to onshore substation. All onshore substations in Taiwan are operated by Taiwan Power Company which is responsible for power distribution and transmission for our daily use.

Q5 What’s the difference between offshore wind farm and onshore wind farm located along the west coastline of Taiwan? Is Taiwan an ideal place to develop offshore wind farm?

From 2001 when the first onshore wind farm was erected in Penghu County, Taiwan has had around 20 onshore wind farms with total installed capacity up to 400 MW in this decade. However, the average installed capacity of an onshore wind farm is only 20 MW which is mainly due to the limited land in Taiwan. As a result, the first-tier onshore wind farms are located sparsely with small-scaled wind farm plan, and already being either developed or underdeveloped.

On the other hand, Taiwan possesses extraordinary advantages in developing offshore wind farms. Taiwan is gifted with excellent wind offshore because of the Taiwan Strait’s special geography which causes channeling effect. Spacious sea area with strong wind enables the planning of large-scaled offshore wind farms with each installed capacity over a hundred MW, so more clean electricity can be offered for Taiwan use.

Q6 What’s the benefit of developing offshore wind farms in Taiwan?

It can be analyzed from two aspects: environmentally and economically.

Environmentally speaking, offshore wind power can greatly help reduce the carbon emissions. According to IEA report, the carbon emission per capita in Taiwan was 11.26 tons in 2004, which figure ranked Taiwan number eighteenth in the world and number one in Asia in terms of carbon emissions. Since climate change becomes a global issue, Taiwan echoed to the international pressure by setting the carbon emission target to return to 2005 level by 2020 which is equivalent to 210 million tons and to 2000 level by 2025.

The carbon emission reduction of one kilowatt-hour from offshore wind power is around 2,000 tons. Assuming that 6,000 MW offshore wind farms are developed in Taiwan, the total carbon emission reductions can reach 12 million tons annually. Offshore wind has the highest potential among all renewable energies to reach Taiwan government’s carbon emission reduction goal.

Economically speaking, offshore wind can encourage the involvement of industry and financial institutions. In addition to offshore wind farm developer’s devotion and investment, the successful offshore wind farm development also needs the project financing provided by banks. Hence offshore wind development can activate financial market. Moreover, the offshore wind supply chain formed by the key component suppliers and offshore construction firms can increase the investment and create job opportunities, which upgrade Taiwan’s core competence.

Q7 In addition to Taiwan, where can we see the most prominent and advanced development of offshore wind farm? Do they share the same tariff mechanism as Taiwan does?

Europe is the pioneer in offshore wind farm development. European countries including Denmark, Netherlands, and Sweden took the lead to develop small-scale demonstrator project in the 1990s and then the UK took over the leading position after 2000 to plan 33 GW (33,000 MW) offshore wind farms. The UK and Taiwan share the same characteristic that both countries are surrounded by the sea. Therefore, the UK can fully utilize the vast ocean resources to develop offshore wind farms and is ranked top one in terms of installed capacity.

In addition, Germany is ambitiously planning the offshore wind installed capacity to reach 3,000 MW by 2015, and the US and China also start to acknowledge the benefits that offshore wind power can bring so they already plan several offshore wind farms along their east coast respectively.

The UK and Germany have the clearest tariff policy among all countries. The tariff in the UK is set by the market mechanism. Based on the incentives provided for offshore wind, the tariff is around NTD 9 (0.18 pound sterling) per kilowatt-hour in 2010. On the other hand, Germany adopts feed-in tariff system to guarantee 20-year power purchase. The feed-in tariff for offshore wind in the first 12 years is around NTD 6.3 (0.15 Euro) per kilowatt-hour and the developers don’t have to bear the grid connection and offshore substation costs. Taiwan is benchmarking to Germany’s feed-in tariff system but the first announced feed-in tariff for 2010 in Taiwan is only NTD 4.1982, which is far lower than any countries. The latest announced feed-in tariff for 2018 is about NTD 5.8498.

Q8 Will offshore wind farms interfere with shipping, fishing or ecology?

The franchise (or the Establishment Permit) issued by the Bureau of Energy, MOEA is required before the construction starts. In order to obtain the franchise, a list of documents shall be prepared, including the opinion letters to demonstrate that the offshore wind farm is not located in shipping, aviation and military restricted area. In addition, the developers will evaluate the impacts on the environment by conducting the environmental impact assessment and propose the mitigation methods or solutions correspondingly.

Since that the required seabed area for turbine installation is limited and the construction period is relatively flexible and short, as long as supporting measures are well-planned during the construction, the turbine in fact can become perfect habitat, spawning and feeding place after the offshore wind farm is in operation. Hence, the offshore wind farm has a very minimal impact on the environment.

Q9 When earthquake occurs or typhoon comes, what’s the impact on the turbine and how to mitigate?

The wind turbine only operates within the “cut-in” and “cut-out” wind speed. Generally speaking, when the wind speed is over 25 m/s, the software on the wind turbine would automatically pause the turbine or could automatically adjust the direction of the turbine and the pitch to avoid directly facing the gale. Another way is to stop the turbine before typhoon comes so the potential damage to turbine can be minimized. In addition, only turbines certified as IEC Class 1A which is the highest standard can fit Taiwan’s requirement, so the suitability of turbine is considered when selecting the wind turbine.

Different from the onshore wind turbine, the fixed-bottom offshore wind turbine majorly used in Taiwan needs foundation (supporting structure) undersea which stands on the seabed to support the wind turbine above sea level. As long as the sufficient earthquake records on the epicenter, magnitude and etc are gathered, the foundation strength can be augmented by tailor-made design and the structural interaction between wind turbine and foundation will be considered in the design to withstand the earthquake, too.

Q10 What are the international standards for offshore wind turbine?

IEC 61400-3:2009 sets the standards for wind turbine design and it can be categorized into Class I, II, III, and IV. Class A and Class B are further defined as a result of turbulence intensity across four classes. All wind speed data are at hub height and the hub height of offshore wind turbine is usually over 90 meters. Class IA is suitable for offshore wind farm where the average wind speed is 10 m/s, the extreme 50-year gust is 70 m/s and the turbulence intensity is 18%.

Q11 How does a team of technicians perform wind turbine maintenance and how to know when to maintain wind turbines?

Periodic maintenance and unsceduled repairs are performed on wind turbines, and technician will access wind turbines via specially built vessels such as crew transfer vessel (CTV). Depending on different situations, the operation center will arrange certified technicians and spare parts required, together with appropriate transportation and special vessels, in order to carry out the maintenance works.

Every turbine is also installed with remote monitoring system (known as SCADA system). Therefore, operational and other data can be transmitted and viewed in the operation center in real time, which provides the info the operation center needs when a maintenace job is required.

Q12 Can we choose to use offshore wind power in our daily life?

The transmission and supply of power are currently under control of Taiwan Power Company. Therefore, residents in Taiwan cannot choose offshore wind power or other sources of energy for their daily consumption of electricity. However, according to Renewable Energy Development Act, Taiwan Power Company has a obligation to purchase renewable energy sources. Hence, once wind farms begin operation, a part of electricy in daily use will be supplied by offshore wind farms.

Q1 專有名詞

離岸風場:
相對於陸上風場,設置於海域或水域,如海上、峽灣及湖泊中的風場。

裝置容量:
電廠能產出的最大電能,通常以MW(百萬瓦;另有以GW為單位者,相當於1,000MW,是謂十億瓦)計算。

發電量
指單位時間電廠能產生的電能,與容量因數有關,台灣常用的一度電係指1kWh,即為每小時產生1,000瓦的電能。

容量因數
指單位時間內裝置容量與實際發電量的比率,介於1和0之間,不同的發電設備有不同的容量因數,以台電估算105年各類發電設備平均容量因數為例,台灣主要電力來源其中核能可達67.6%、火力可達68.07%,水力達35.71%;其中,再生能源又因受限於自然條件而容量因數相對低,以台灣彰化地區離岸風場為例,據估計平均容量因數應在25%~30%之間。

電網併聯:
在離岸風場中,電網併聯代表將電力經由海上變電站的蒐集、海底電纜及陸上電纜的傳送、一直到連結於陸上變電站。台灣的陸上變電站皆由台電公司經營,一般民眾所使用的電力由台電公司負責配置與傳送。

籌設許可:
電廠經營在台灣屬於特許行業,而離岸風場屬於電廠的一種,因此必須先取得經濟部能源局所發之「籌設許可」,才擁有經營離岸風場的權利。

IEC Class ΙA: IEC(International Electrotechnical Commission)規範風機設計的標準,分成Class Ι、Class Ⅱ、Class Ⅲ及Class Ⅳ,且每個Class因擾流因素而另分成Class A與Class B,所有數據皆以風機輪轂高度為準,離岸風場的風機輪轂高度多在90公尺以上。Class ΙA適用於平均風速10 公尺/秒、50年極端陣風70公尺/秒,及擾流因素18%的場址。

Q2 什麼是離岸風電?

離岸風電指的是在海域或水域地區,包括海上、峽灣及湖泊等,以風機陣列形成離岸風場,並仰賴風力推動風機運轉產生電力。以台灣為例,發展離岸風電的最佳地點為台灣西部的台灣海峽。

Q3 離岸風場和台灣西濱沿海的陸上風場有什麼不同? 台灣適合發展離岸風場嗎?

民國91年台灣第一座陸上風場落腳於澎湖中屯,十年期間共開發約20座陸上風場,累計裝置容量近400 MW,平均一座風場之裝置容量僅約20 MW,主要即因台灣地狹人稠,具有良好風力資源的陸上風場有限,因此風場場址分佈零散,且每個風場適合開發的區域亦屬小規模,因此較無經濟規模。

反觀規劃於台灣海峽的離岸風場,由於其特殊地形,狹管效應導致海上風力強勁且穩定,賦予台灣極佳的離岸風場開發條件,再加上台灣海峽幅員廣大,因此可以有效規劃大規模的風場場址,每個風場的裝置容量多以數百MW計算,提供更多潔淨電力給台灣的民眾使用。

Q4 離岸風電可以為台灣帶來什麼好處?

離岸風電的效益可以分成環境面及經濟面。

從環境面的角度,發展離岸風電可以減少二氧化碳排放量。根據全球能源總署(IEA)的報告,2004年台灣的每人平均二氧化碳排放量為11.26公噸,位居全球第18名,且為亞洲第一。隨著氣候變遷成為全球須正視且面對的課題,台灣政府於2010年訂立減碳目標,2020年排碳量要回到2005年水準,相當於減碳2.1億公噸,且2025年要回歸至2000年之排放量,因此,如何達成減碳目標為刻不容緩之事。

離岸風場的發電效率相較於陸上風場為佳,因此每1 MW的減碳量也較高約為2,000噸,假定台灣擁有6,000MW的風場潛能,相當於每年可減碳1,200萬噸,其減碳效益居所有再生能源項目之冠,且能有效協助台灣達成所宣示的減碳目標。

從經濟面而言,離岸風電的發展可帶動台灣包括產業界及金融界的投入。成功的離岸風場開發牽涉多元介面,除了風場開發商的投資之外,還需要金融機構提供專案融資,而設備及海事工程廠商可形成離岸風電產業供應鏈,不僅增加產值,更創造就業機會,提升台灣的經濟競爭力。

Q5 全球有哪些國家在做離岸風電? 這些國家的離岸風電電價跟台灣一樣嗎?

歐洲是最早發展離岸風電的國家,從1990年代就由丹麥、荷蘭和瑞典等國家率先建置了小規模的示範型風場,一直到2000年以後,這股熱潮逐漸由英國接手,共規劃了33 GW的離岸風場。英國跟台灣相似之處就是四面環海,因此英國可利用廣大的海域資源發展離岸風場,至今裝置容量已達全球第一。

此外,德國亦積極規劃離岸風場的裝置容量,預期2015年將達到3,000 MW,且美國和中國等國家也開始注意到離岸風電的優勢及潛能,已規劃數個位於東岸的離岸風場。

在所有國家中,英國及德國有最明確的電價政策。英國是依市場機制訂定給予離岸風電的電價,以2010年的獎勵機制計算,每一度電的電價約相當於新台幣9元(英鎊0.18元)。德國則是採取饋網電價制度,保證收購離岸風場的電力達20年,前12年的電價約為新台幣6.3元,且風場開發商無須負擔電網併聯的費用。目前台灣的電價制度是學習德國的方法,2010年首次公告給予離岸風電的電價為新台幣4.1982元,遠低於歐洲發展先驅的水準;最新公告2018給予離岸風電的電價則為新台幣5.8498元。

Q6 離岸風場是由什麼構成的?

離岸風場主要由離岸風機、海底基樁、連結件、海上變電站、海底電纜、陸上電纜以及陸上變電站等硬體構成。離岸風場所產生的電力將會透過海上變電站收集且升壓之後,經由海底電纜傳輸至陸上電纜,最後併聯至台電於各地的陸上變電站。

Q7 離岸風場會影響到船舶運行、漁業活動或任何環境生態嗎?

在台灣進行離岸風場開發必須先取得經濟部能源局的「籌設許可」,其中規範了許多要件,在風場規劃初期即會排除船舶、飛航及國防軍事等敏感地區,且透過環境影響評估瞭解離岸風場對於該海域的影響,進而提出減緩或解決方案。

此外,離岸風場的每支風機使用海床的面積有限,且施工期間相對較短,只要在施工期間做好完善的配套措施,完工後每支風機反而可以成為海中生物棲息、繁殖及覓食的良好場所,因此整體影響相對較小。

Q8 台灣常有颱風跟地震,這會對風機產生影響嗎?

风机仅在一定的风速区间才能运转,因此当风速过大,例如超过25 m/s时,风机就会自动侦测且停止运转,并同时调整风机方向与叶片角度以避免正面承受过大风力,另一种方式是在台风来临前直接手动停止运转,亦可降低台风对风机的损害。此外,风机有等级之分,台湾对风机的要求都是IEC Class ΙA,也就是最高等级的风机,因此已考虑台湾特殊情况来选择合适的风机。

离岸风机是建置在海上,与陆上风机不同之处在于大部分都需要海底基桩立足在海床之上,以支撑海平面以上的风机。地震由于震源以及强度不同,对不同地区的影响也不同,因此只要运用地震资料来设计合适的海底基桩强度,并考虑海底基桩与离岸风机的结构应力关系,即可有效预防地震所造成的影响。

Q9 我們是否能選擇使用離岸風電的電力?

目前台灣的電力市場是由台電公司負責傳輸及分配,因此民眾無法自由選擇使用離岸風電或其他來源所產生的電力。然而依據再生能源發展條例的規定,台電公司有義務要收購再生能源所產生之電力,因此未來離岸風場商轉後,大家所使用的電當中,就會有一部分是來自於離岸風電的電力。